Dr Lesley Braun

Group Director

As Australia’s leading natural health brand Blackmores is committed to improving the quality use of complementary Medicine (QUCM). Blackmores Institute Director, Dr Lesley Braun proudly brings this commitment to life throughout Australasia by drawing on her extensive experience as a researcher and an academic.

To achieve this Dr Braun has taken a four-pronged approach to transforming natural health literacy in Australasia, through:

  • Investment in research
  • Education of healthcare professionals and advisors
  • Consultation with industry, government and universities on the QUCM
  • The promotion of the emerging science for natural health and medicine

Dr Braun is also an Adjunct Associate Professor at the National Institute of Complementary Medicine (Western Sydney University) and has held research positions at The Alfred Hospital, Monash University. She was Vice President of the National Herbalists Association of Australia, an Academic Board Member of Endeavour College, and former member of key industry groups including the Australian Therapeutic Goods Advisory Council, Advisory Committee for Complementary Medicine (TGA), the Advisory Committee for the Australasian Integrative Medicine Association, and the National E Health Transition Authority (NeHTA) medicines terminology group.

Lesley is a current member of the Clinical Oncology Society of Australia’s Complementary and Integrative Therapies Group Executive, Pharmaceutical Society of Australia, Australian Institute of Company Directors, Australia-China Business Council Health, and Medical Research working group, plus on the course advisory committees for nutrition courses at Endeavour College and the Think Group.

She is the main author of four best-selling textbooks including Herbs and Natural Supplements – an evidence based guide, founding Editor-in-Chief of the journal Advances in Integrative Medicine, and was a regular columnist for the Australian Journal of Pharmacy for 20 years. In 2018 she was named The CEO Magazine's Health & Pharmaceutical Executive of the Year.